Scroll to content
Sires Hill Primary Academy home page

Sires Hill

Primary Academy

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage framework is mandatory for all early years providers in England.  Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential.  Children develop quickly in the early years and a child's experiences between birth and five have a major impact on their future life chances.  A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right.  The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.  


There are seven areas of learning and development that shape educational programmes in the early years (nursery and Reception).  All areas of learning are important and inter-connected.  Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.


The three prime areas are: communication and language, physical development, personal, social and emotional development.


Specific areas are: literacy, mathematics, understanding the world and expressive arts and design.


Our curriculum has been redesigned to meet the changes made to the 2021 EYFS statutory framework and to link directly with the planning for the rest of the school.  There are key skills that have been identified in areas of learning that link with national curriculum subjects so that pupils are equipped successfully with the skills and knowledge they need to be successful in Year 1 and beyond.  

Long term Plan 


Be Kind, Be Brilliant